Give up your childish ways

IMG_0069.JPG

1 Corinthians 13:11
When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up childish ways.
(ESV)

There are a lot of times that we still inherit our childish manners like for example, winning an argument; complaining about things you cannot do something about; or even crying over spilled milk. We need to grow. It is a general and scientific fact that all living things are “growing”.

The apostle Paul said that when he became a man (a grownup), he GAVE UP his childish ways. What areas of our being childish should we give up? He shared three:

1. GIVE UP your Childish talk:
-Do you keep on complaining instead of praying? Do you keep on making up stories? Do you keep on telling lies (even “white lies”)? Do you keep telling rumors about someone just to pull someone down? Do you just say something out of emotion or base on facts?

2. GIVE UP your Childish thoughts:
-Do you live according to your own selfish gain? Do you consider others first before saying things or deciding on a matter? Do you think about the cause and effect of the things we are planning to do? Do we carefully consider Christ in our thoughts and plans? Are you a pessimist?

3. GIVE UP your Childish Reasoning:
-Do you think that you are always right? Do you always want to win arguments? Do you close your ears to people who gives you correction and instruction? Do you procrastinate? Do you always blame others when something bad arises?

These questions are just some checkup for us to check so that the Lord can help us give up our childish ways. As we grow in faith, it is God’s desire for us to be more like Him as He exemplified the way to live.

4 thoughts on “Give up your childish ways

  1. Hello… CHECK UP TIME INDEED, EH?? There are days I am sure we just want to be childish. I am so happy The Lord is patient when I complain. But HE gets stern sometimes when He speaks and then it’s time to straighten up! Thank you for visiting my blog. I hope you found something that blessed you. I will be sharing soon on some more dreams, visions and things I sense the Lord speak to me in quiet times. You also keep up this great work! 🙂 have a great day!

  2. Yeah. Thanks also for reading. It is a privilege to receive feedbacks from you. The Lord wants us to be a child some times though. Specially being childlike in faith that we can believe His promises without holding us back.
    I wrote this because it was my birthday. Hehe.

  3. Really enjoyed this blog. So right…don’t we all have childish ways. I frequently joke to friends “if I am so old, why am I still so immature?” Though it is meant as a means of laughter there is meaning for all in it. We need to seek to be mature in our faith, children of God yes but also having moved on from spiritual “milk” and onto the meat of our faith. Amen and Amen. Thanks also for the reblog above today. Blessings on you. setyourpathsstraight@wordpress.com

    1. Yeah.. It is normal for believers to be happy always like we are really like a child.I also do behave like a child specially when we want to make someone happy by cracking childish jokes. Thanks also.

Leave a Reply

